City Commission narrows D1 choice to 5

Sanford City Commissioners chose a diverse mix of residents to interview for the vacant District 1 City Commission seat, setting up a potential historic decision on June 29

Of the 5 candidates, the list includes 3 women and 3 Black residents. During the city’s 143-year history neither a woman nor a Black citizen has represented District 1.

The five residents to be interviewed include:

  • Charles Davis – 2 votes
  • Sheena Britton – 3 votes
  • Tammy Agnini – 3 votes
  • Victoria Robinson Wilson – 3 votes
  • Derrick Daniels – 3 votes

Commissioners will interview the 5 candidates at a public meeting on June 29 and will make a decision that night after the interviews.

A breakdown of each commissioner’s vote:

Mayor Art Woodruff’s 4 picks were: Tammy Agnini, Sheena Britton, Derrick Daniels and Victoria Robinson Wilson.

District 2 Commissioner Kerry Wiggins‘ 4 picks were: Charles Davis, Sheena Britton, Derrick Daniels and Victoria Robinson Wilson.

District 3 Commissioner Patrick Austin’s 4 picks were: Don Schreiner, Derrick Daniels, Tammy Agnini and Charles Davis.

District 4 Commissioner Patty Mahany’s 4 picks were: Victoria Robinson Wilson, Tammy Agnini, Sheena Britton, and Debbie Van Gaale.

he District 1 seat is vacant after Mayor Jeff Triplett announced June 8 he was running for Seminole County Property Appraiser. Florida law requires elected officials to resign from their current office in order to run for a different office.

At their June 8 meeting, commissioners appointed District 1 City Commissioner Art Woodruff to serve as mayor, thus leaving his seat vacant. The commission must now appoint a citizen to that seat.

The Sanford city charter requires the city commission to appoint a replacement for for any vacancies within 30 days.

Although there is a regular city election schedule Aug. 18 for city commission seats in Districts 3 and 4, the charter also states that if a vacancy takes place with less than 6 months before a city election, the appointee will serve the remaining term, In this case, Woodruff and the new appointee will not run for election until August 2022.


What are your thoughts about this story?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.